Minnesota Brow Lash Studio & Academy- Trainings FAQ

We have answers for all your microblading and permanent makeup questions. If you don’t see it here, contact us and we’ll answer you within the next business day.

Microblading & Permanent Makeup Training

Minnesota (MN) Individual License

The state of Minnesota Health Department regulates these body art programs: tattoo, body arts, dry tattoo, microblading and permanent makeup services.  Refer to this link:



Students are not required to possess a cosmetology license to take the permanent makeup training. To obtain a body art license in the state of Minnesota, you are required to apprentice under a body art supervisor for 200 hours (hands-on human skin time). An application for a temporary body art license is required to be filled out by both the student and the qualified supervisor. This application (along with paid fee) is required and will need approval by the MN Health Department before any live model or permanent makeup service operation can be performed. It is a misdemeanor offense if you violate this statue. Forms and application of the temporary technician license can be found at:



At Minnesota Brow Lash Studio & Academy, we offer several programs for Microblading and Permanent Makeup training courses. Students may choose to take any of our courses based on current skill sets and desired career goals. The course(s) will certify and train the student with the basic knowledge and skills to start practicing. During the course(s), live model practice is an option for students to choose if they wish (with paid fee). To sign up for the live model option, we require the student to register no later than 30 days prior to class which will allow time for the state licensing and approval process. Our academy will coordinate the licensing process on the student’s behalf.


After the training courses are completed, we offer an apprenticeship program for the students to continue to practice, learn more and accelerate their skills.  We offer the most comprehensive training and apprenticeship programs in the region.

  • To be licensed in Minnesota, the student is required to apprentice for 200 hours, minimum. The license application process is via the temporary license process (as outlined above). The apprentice will perform services on live models under the direction of a supervisor for a period of approximately 4 months at 2 days a week to fulfill the 200 hours minimum requirement by the state of Minnesota. As an apprentice, you will pay the apprenticeship fee, upfront. Contact us for the apprenticeship fee and associated contract information.
  • Temporary Body Art License information and forms can be found at:


Out of state (outside of Minnesota) students

To practice on live models or to apprentice with us, you will need a ‘guest artist’ license. The apprenticeship program is not necessary after completing the course. However, the student may choose to apprentice with us to gain more experience and build skill sets quickly. The apprenticeship program will vary depending on the student’s needs. To sign up for the live model option or apprenticeship program, we require a registration minimum of 30 days prior to class start date to accommodate the state licensing application process. Our academy will coordinate the licensing process. Licensing information and form can be found at:




Out of State Individual License & Facility License

You have to check with your state health department jurisdiction and regulations. States have different regulations for body art licensing. Therefore, it is the students’ responsibility to check with his/her own state of residence licensing and regulation requirements.

Professional & Liability Insurance

Apprentices are required to carry (provide proof) their own liability insurance to perform body art at our facility. If the student needs insurance as such, here is a link to affordable insurance:


Financial Aid/Grants/Loans/Funds

Currently, we are not offering student loans or scholarship. We accept payment in these forms: check, credit card, cash or bank issued money orders. If you are seeking a personal educational loan, we have an affiliation with Wells Fargo Bank. Also, depending on the training program the student chooses, we offer special payment plans. Contact us for more details on the special payment plan and/or the Wells Fargo Bank loan option.

Bloodborne Pathogen Training

Eyelash Extensions and Regulated Service Training

Minnesota (MN) Individual License

We operate under the MN Board of Cosmetology School license (# 9000219). We offer a 38- hour eyelash extension training program which will provide certification to become an eyelash technician. After the training, the student can take the state test through PSI and apply to be licensed as an eyelash technician.

Students do not need to possess a cosmetology license or an esthetician license to take this course. However, other requirements such as a high school diploma are required by the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology in order to obtain a license. All individual licenses and forms can be found at: https://mn.gov/boards/cosmetology/licensing/individual-a/

If you possess a cosmetology license and/or an esthetician license, your license will qualify you to perform eyelash extensions. You do not need an additional eye lash technician license to perform eyelash services. If you have never performed eyelash extensions, we strongly encourage you can take our 38 hour course (as outlined above) or our other advanced courses (such as our 1 1/2 Day ‘Level 1’ or our 1 Day ‘Volume Course’. These courses will provide the necessary knowledge and skills to jump start your career earnings potential!

Disclaimer: This FAQ is a short compilation of the common topics as of 2/25/2019. Minnesota State statue and regulations may be changed since publishing this FAQ. Please contact the appropriate government agencies in which you reside for the most accurate information.